Databricks sells a data and AI platform that companies use to store, clean and analyze data and to build AI applications on top of it. It was founded in 2013 by the creators of Apache Spark at UC Berkeley and is based in San Francisco.
Databricks stock at a glance
| Question | Answer | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Is Databricks public? | No, privately held | CNBC |
| Ticker | None | - |
| Latest valuation | $190 billion post-money | CNBC, August 13, 2026 |
| Latest round | $5 billion, led by Coatue | CNBC |
| Revenue run-rate | More than $7 billion, up more than 80% year over year | Databricks, August 2026 |
| IPO filing | None on SEC EDGAR as of November 2, 2026 | SEC EDGAR |
| Employees | About 10,000 | Wikipedia |
| CEO | Ali Ghodsi, a co-founder | Databricks |
TechCrunch reported that Databricks set out to raise $1 billion in that round, investors offered about $15 billion, and the company settled on $5 billion.
Databricks' value, round by round
| Date | Round | Raised | Valuation | Lead investors |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | Series A | $13.9 million | Not disclosed | Andreessen Horowitz |
| 2014 | Series B | $33 million | Not disclosed | New Enterprise Associates |
| 2016 | Series C | $60 million | Not disclosed | New Enterprise Associates |
| 2017 | Series D | $140 million | Not disclosed | Andreessen Horowitz |
| February 2021 | Series G | $1 billion | $28 billion | Franklin Templeton |
| August 2021 | Series H | $1.6 billion | $38 billion | Morgan Stanley |
| September 2023 | Series I | $500 million | About $43 billion | Capital One Ventures, Nvidia |
| December 2024 | Series J | $10 billion | $62 billion | Thrive Capital |
| August 2025 | Series K | $1 billion | Over $100 billion | Thrive Capital, Insight Partners |
| December 2025 | Series L | $4 billion | $134 billion | Insight Partners, Fidelity, J.P. Morgan |
| August 2026 | Strategic round | $5 billion | $190 billion | Coatue, with Blackstone, MGX, T. Rowe Price, Sixth Street Growth |
Sources: Databricks on Wikipedia, citing company announcements, for 2013 to 2025; CNBC for August 2026. Series E and F (2019, $250 million and $400 million, led by Andreessen Horowitz) are left out of the table for space.
The valuation rose from $28 billion to $190 billion in five and a half years, or about 6.8 times. Since December 2024 alone it has roughly tripled.
Databricks revenue
| Date | Revenue measure | Figure |
|---|---|---|
| Fiscal 2023 | Revenue | $1.6 billion |
| September 2025 | Run-rate | $4 billion |
| December 2025 | Run-rate | $4.8 billion |
| February 2026 | Run-rate | $5.4 billion, up more than 65%; positive free cash flow over 12 months |
| August 2026 | Run-rate | More than $7 billion, up more than 80% |
Sources: Databricks press releases as summarized on Wikipedia, and CNBC, August 2026. A run-rate annualizes recent revenue and is not audited.
At $190 billion, Databricks was valued at about 27 times its $7 billion run-rate (my calculation).
What Databricks' SEC filings show
Databricks does not publish financial statements, but it does file a short Form D with the SEC each time it sells shares privately. Those filings confirm how much money actually came in and from how many investors.
| Form D filed | First sale | Offered | Sold | Investors |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 27, 2026 | August 12, 2026 | $5,000,000,000 | $4,999,997,255 | 136 |
| August 27, 2026 | February 21, 2026 | $241,204,249 | $241,204,249 | 101 |
| December 31, 2025 | December 16, 2025 | $5,000,000,000 | $4,082,050,250 | 153 |
| September 23, 2025 | September 8, 2025 | $1,074,999,900 | $954,996,900 | 124 |
| September 23, 2025 | May 27, 2025 | $665,723,223 | $665,723,223 | 237 |
Source: Databricks, Inc. Form D filings on SEC EDGAR (CIK 1587468). "Sold" is the amount reported sold as of each filing.
The August 2026 filing shows the $5 billion round was filled almost to the dollar, $2,745 short, by 136 investors. The December 2025 offering had $4.08 billion of its $5 billion sold when it was filed.
When is the Databricks IPO?
There is no date. Ghodsi told CNBC in August 2026 that Databricks is "not just a company that wants to stay in the private" market but sees "too much distraction in the public market" right now, and that he wants to focus on AI products. Many analysts expect a listing in 2027 or later, but that is a forecast, not a plan the company has announced.
Watch SEC EDGAR for a confidential or public S-1. Large companies usually file confidentially first and publish the S-1 a few weeks before trading starts.
How to buy Databricks stock before an IPO
- Secondary marketplaces. Accredited investors can look for shares on platforms such as Forge Global, but Databricks must usually approve transfers and prices are set privately.
- Funds that may hold it. T. Rowe Price and Fidelity both invested in Databricks rounds, and some of their mutual funds can hold private shares alongside public ones. Check a fund's latest holdings report before buying it for Databricks exposure.
- Wait for the IPO. Once Databricks lists, any brokerage account can buy it.
None of this is investment advice. Private shares are hard to sell and their prices can move sharply at an IPO.
Who owns Databricks?
| Owner | Role | What is public |
|---|---|---|
| Ali Ghodsi | Co-founder and CEO | Stake not disclosed |
| Matei Zaharia, Ion Stoica, Reynold Xin, Patrick Wendell, Andy Konwinski, Arsalan Tavakoli | Co-founders | Stakes not disclosed |
| Andreessen Horowitz | Led Series A, D, E and F | Stake not disclosed |
| New Enterprise Associates | Led Series B and C | Stake not disclosed |
| Thrive Capital, Insight Partners, Coatue | Led 2024 to 2026 rounds | Stakes not disclosed |
| Nvidia, Capital One Ventures | Strategic investors from 2023 | Stakes not disclosed |
Source: Databricks on Wikipedia.
Databricks timeline
- 2013
Seven Apache Spark creators found Databricks; Series A
- 2021
Series G and Series H
- 2023
Buys MosaicML; Series I
- 2024
$10 billion Series J; buys Tabular for over $1 billion
- 2025
Series K and Series L; buys Neon for about $1 billion
- 2026 (August)
$5 billion round; run-rate passes $7 billion
How I checked this
I checked SEC EDGAR for a Databricks IPO filing and found none, and read the company's Form D filings for the amounts actually raised. The latest round and Ghodsi's IPO comments are from CNBC's August 13, 2026 report, run-rates are from Databricks' own announcements, and earlier rounds are from the funding history on Wikipedia. The revenue multiple is my own arithmetic.
Related reading
Sources & methodology
Observations retain their source, period and definition. Uncertainty is preserved; missing values are not zero.
- Databricks wraps $5 billion funding round at $190 billion valuation (CNBC) ↗
CNBC · 2026-08-13T00:00:00.000Z
- Databricks wanted to raise $1B, investors wanted $15B. It settled on $5B at a $190B valuation (TechCrunch) ↗
TechCrunch · 2026-08-13T00:00:00.000Z
- Databricks grows more than 80% year over year, surpasses $7B revenue run-rate (Databricks) ↗
Databricks
- Databricks, Inc. Form D notice of exempt offering, filed August 27, 2026 (SEC EDGAR) ↗
SEC EDGAR · 2026-08-27T00:00:00.000Z
- Databricks, Inc. Form D notice of exempt offering, filed December 31, 2025 (SEC EDGAR) ↗
SEC EDGAR · 2025-12-31T00:00:00.000Z
- Databricks, Inc. Form D notice of exempt offering, filed September 23, 2025 (SEC EDGAR) ↗
SEC EDGAR · 2025-09-23T00:00:00.000Z
- Databricks (Wikipedia, citing company press releases, CNBC, Reuters and the Wall Street Journal) ↗
Wikipedia
Accessed 2026-11-02.