Key takeaways
- May 13, 2026: a $5B Series H financing established a $61B headline valuation.
- June 2025: Founders Fund invested $1B in the $2.5B Series G round, according to Reuters.
- There is no public Anduril ticker established in the records checked on October 11, 2026.
- A secondary stock quote does not establish permission to transfer the underlying shares.
What changed in 2026
The latest priced company announcement I verified is the May 13 Series H release. Thrive and a16z led the financing. A large private financing can extend the period during which a business funds itself without an exchange listing; it does not start an IPO countdown.
I separate that financing from the supplied lead about discussions near $100B. I have not substantiated a closing at that higher price in the records used for this article, so it is absent from the chart. A prospective price should replace the benchmark only when its event, terms and completion are documented.
Who owns Anduril?
This holder table is an evidence map, not a reconstructed cap table. Naming a fund as a round lead establishes participation at that date. It does not reveal all holdings bought earlier, secondary purchases, shares sold later or a current percentage. I retain the source dates beside each name.
Reuters’ June 2025 account connects Founders Fund to early backing and identifies Trae Stephens as both a cofounder and a fund partner. An overlapping person connects two institutions; it does not make them the same legal owner. I do not aggregate his undisclosed personal shares with fund holdings.
| Holder | Type | Stake / basis | Voting rights | Source / date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Founding team | Founders | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | www.investing.com 2017 / reported 2025 |
| Thrive Capital | Series H co-lead | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | www.anduril.com 2026-05-13 |
| Andreessen Horowitz | Series H co-lead | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | www.anduril.com 2026-05-13 |
| Founders Fund | Series G lead | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | www.investing.com 2025-06-05 |
Who can actually transfer Anduril stock?
The practical ownership question is whether a buyer receives an interest the company recognizes. Anduril’s investor-relations policy describes consent requirements and rights of first refusal affecting many shares. The seller’s contract with a buyer is only one part of the process.
My read: an offer page needs to disclose what is being sold. Direct shares, a vehicle holding shares and a contract promising future proceeds create different chains of ownership. The issuer, registered holder, administrator and buyer may be different parties. A pre-IPO label cannot resolve those differences.
I would check the issuing entity, security class, registered holder, consent conditions, fees, distribution waterfall and exit rights in the actual instrument. I have not reviewed a particular retail offering here. The company policy cannot establish that every intermediary product has identical legal or economic terms.
What $5 billion of new capital actually tells us
The 2021, 2025 and 2026 observations describe transactions at $4.6B, $30.5B and $61B. My calculation puts the last value at roughly 13.3 times the first. That is a comparison of company-level transaction benchmarks across different dates, not a return earned by every shareholder. Share classes, dilution, subsequent purchases and transfer restrictions can produce very different outcomes for individual investors.
If the $61B headline is read as a post-money equity value, $5B divided by $61B is approximately 8.2%. That is a simplifying new-money ratio, not a verified ownership allocation. The release does not give each fund’s subscription, identify secondary sales or supply the fully diluted capitalization used for pricing. I therefore keep Thrive and a16z’s current stakes marked undisclosed.
A secondary-market seller may quote a price for a particular instrument. To compare it with these funding values, I would need the number of shares, the class, contractual preferences and whether the company recognizes the transfer. Anduril’s transfer policy makes that last question especially material: a quoted economic exposure and valid registered ownership can be different things.
For the IPO question, a larger financing can extend a private company’s options without fixing a listing date. I would update this investigation when a company announcement, public registration document or completed corporate transaction changes those options. A new headline suggesting a higher valuation belongs in the reported-talks category until there is evidence that the transaction happened.
How the founders built Anduril
The 2019 investor account gives a more useful starting point than the latest valuation. It names Palmer Luckey, Brian Schimpf, Matt Grimm, Joe Chen and Trae Stephens, linking their experience to Oculus, Palantir, military technology and defense investing. That combination explains how a hardware-and-software company could approach government customers while raising venture capital.
Andreessen Horowitz described a model in which Anduril financed development before selling products to government. I treat that as the investor’s description of its business model, rather than an audited conclusion about every contract. The ownership implication is straightforward: venture shareholders bear business exposure while procurement customers buy equipment and services. A government contract does not itself make the government a shareholder.
Luckey is a prominent founder; the latest financing letter identifies Schimpf as CEO. Neither fact establishes a personal ownership percentage. I apply the same distinction in who owns Cursor, where founder roles, investor backing and customers answer different questions. Individual wealth requires evidence beyond the value of the entire business.
Funding and valuation history
New capital and the price attached to the whole company are different quantities. Neither is the founder’s net worth. A founder estimate needs a substantiated stake, security rights, liabilities and actual liquidity. The financing benchmark alone supplies none of those missing inputs.
The May funding amount divided by the headline valuation is about 8.2%. That is a rough financing-size ratio, not Thrive’s stake or exact dilution. Preferred rights, option-pool changes and any secondary component can change what an individual holder owns. Share documents are needed to convert that ratio into a cap-table percentage.
A financing price is also specific to a transaction. It is not an issuer promise to buy all shares at that value. Different securities may have liquidation preferences, vesting or transfer conditions. A secondary buyer must reconcile its own terms with the rights behind the funding headline rather than assuming complete equivalence.
| Date / event | Amount | Valuation | Lead / counterparty | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021-06-17 Series D | $450M | $4.6B post-money | Elad Gil | Anduril disclosed |
| 2025-06-05 Series G | $2.5B | $30.5B | Founders Fund | www.investing.com reported |
| 2026-05-13 Series H | $5B | $61B | Thrive Capital; a16z | www.anduril.com disclosed |
Anduril: dated funding valuations
USD billions · priced rounds only
Scroll horizontally to see every column. Keyboard: focus the chart and use the arrow keys.
Logarithmic scale. Baseline 0.1 in the displayed units; equal vertical distances represent equal ratios. Missing values are not interpolated.
Separate round observations. Tenders, debt, proposed deals and valuation lower bounds are excluded. No values between rounds are estimated.
I count three dated priced observations, rising from $4.6B in 2021 to $61B in 2026, about 13.3 times. The 2025-to-2026 benchmark doubles. The logarithmic event bars show ratios, not daily stock prices or returns on a particular share class.
Anduril ownership timeline
| Date | Event | Ownership after event | Money / basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | Company founded | Founders and early backers | Stakes unavailable | www.investing.com |
| 2021-06-17 | Series D | Private shareholders; allocations undisclosed | $450M; $4.6B post-money | Anduril |
| 2025-06-05 | Series G | Private founders and investors | $2.5B; $30.5B valuation | www.investing.com |
| 2026-05-13 | Series H | Private investors including new leads | $5B; $61B valuation | www.anduril.com |
| 2026-10-12 | Research check | Private shareholders; transfers restricted | No later closing established here | www.anduril.com |
The forward-contract clause matters more than the quoted price
The policy warns that forward contracts can interact with rights allowing the company to repurchase shares at their original purchase price. That makes the mechanics of a purported retail interest central to what a buyer might receive.
A high secondary quote is therefore insufficient evidence of realizable value. An investor needs to understand how issuer restrictions, repurchase rights and vehicle distributions interact before assuming that a contract tracks an eventual IPO price. I cannot calculate the result for an agreement I have not read.
This is independent analysis of a public document, not a claim to exclusive knowledge of private terms. Its application depends on the actual holder and security. It adds a checkable question to the article rather than repeating a speculative listing date.
Who runs Anduril?
| Person | Role | As of / condition | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Brian Schimpf | Cofounder and CEO | Confirmed May 2026; appointment date not established here | www.anduril.com |
Can you buy Anduril stock? What about an IPO?
No ordinary exchange-listed Anduril share is established by the records reviewed. A broker search result, token reference or indicative secondary price does not supply a public ticker. Our AI companies index keeps company metrics beside their dates and definitions.
The listing checks are concrete: a public offering document, an admitted security, the issuer and the offered share class. A confidential submission could exist without a public document; this review does not establish that none exists. I have no verified IPO date to put on a calendar.
Investors researching private infrastructure face similar classification problems in Crusoe’s ownership file and Lambda’s funding investigation. Completed equity, an anticipated closing and a reported future financing should produce different labels in every comparison.
Frequently asked questions
Is Anduril publicly traded?
Anduril remains private under its reviewed investor policy. An institutional financing valuation is not an exchange market capitalization. A private transfer may be possible in particular circumstances, but requires attention to issuer restrictions and the exact instrument. This review does not establish a public Anduril ticker.
Can you buy Anduril stock before an IPO?
An offer may describe shares, a vehicle interest or a contractual promise. Access and enforceability depend on its actual documents and the company’s rules. This article does not validate a particular offering. Check who owns the underlying security, whether the transfer is recognized and how proceeds reach the buyer.
Who is Anduril?
Anduril is a privately funded defense technology business founded in 2017. Its ownership is best traced through founders, institutional financing and share-transfer records rather than a single recognizable founder. The holder table records named investors without assigning percentages the available documents do not establish.
What is Anduril worth?
The May 2026 financing benchmark is $61 billion. It is a company valuation at a particular transaction date, not an offer to buy every outstanding security at the same price. Later talks, platform quotations and personal wealth estimates are different measures and require their own evidence.
What I am watching next
Next financing: verify announcement and closing terms before adding any higher price to the chart.
Next listing milestone: check for an offering document and admitted ticker; an interview about ambitions is not a schedule.
Next ownership refresh: compare changes to issuer transfer policy and newly disclosed rights against this October 11 snapshot.
Our independent research methodology
I read the financing release and CEO letter, rendered transfer policy and contemporaneous Reuters report. I retained record dates, calculated transparent ratios and left unknown stakes and votes undisclosed. My research approach separates evidence from interpretation. I did not obtain the private shareholder register or validate a retail instrument.
Research checked 2026-10-12. Updated 2026-10-12. Meet the author and read our research approach.
Sources & methodology
Observations retain their source, period and definition. Uncertainty is preserved; missing values are not zero.
- Anduril Series H and CEO investor letter ↗
www.anduril.com · 2026-05-13
Company financing announcement; $5B, $61B, Thrive and a16z. Read in browser. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Anduril investor relations: transfer restrictions ↗
www.anduril.com · Undated
Company policy on private stock, consent, ROFR and forward contracts. Read in browser. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Series G announcement reported by Reuters ↗
www.investing.com · 2025-06-05
Contemporaneous reporting of company statement, $2.5B, $30.5B, Founders Fund. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Anduril: a16z Series B investment account ↗
Andreessen Horowitz · 2019-10-03
Investor account describes the five founders, previous employment, research funding model and its Series B participation. It is an interested investor’s account, not an audited performance assessment. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Lattice SDK licence: contracting entity ↗
Anduril · Undated
Introduction identifies Anduril Industries, Inc., organized in Delaware. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Anduril announces Series D ↗
Anduril · 2021-06-17
$450M financing; $4.6B post-money; Elad Gil led. Read the company-issued release indexed by search; browser verification recorded separately. Accessed 2026-10-11.