Key takeaways
- March 25, 2026: $200M financing at an $11B valuation.
- September 9, 2026: $550M financing at $15.5B.
- The two disclosed valuation benchmarks increased about 40.9%.
- Strategic bank investment is not evidence of an IPO underwriting appointment.
What changed in 2026
The September financing announcement separates the money raised from the company value. The supplied shorthand, a $15.5B round, would blur those amounts: financing was $550M, while the headline valuation was $15.5B.
The March release supplies an earlier comparable company benchmark. I can calculate the change between them, but cannot convert that company-level increase into an individual founder’s gain without share and dilution evidence.
Who owns Harvey?
The new financing co-leads are Diffusion and Lightspeed. Returning investors include GIC, Sequoia and other named funds. A round lead is not automatically a majority owner, while a returning participant’s total interest is not limited to what it may have invested in the latest event.
The legal footer is useful identity evidence, but a full operating-entity investigation still needs the actual customer and equity documents. I do not substitute an old trade name or an assumed corporate suffix for the current company wording. The exact contracting entity should be confirmed before publication.
The Platform Agreement identifies Harvey AI Corporation as a Delaware corporation and includes its affiliates in the defined contracting group. That is stronger evidence of the legal name than a brand or footer alone, but it is not a subsidiary register or disclosure of voting control.
| Holder | Type | Stake / basis | Voting rights | Source / date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Winston Weinberg; Gabe Pereyra | Founders; current holdings unavailable | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | www.harvey.ai 2026-09-09 |
| Diffusion; Lightspeed Venture Partners | September co-leads | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | www.harvey.ai 2026-09-09 |
| GIC; Sequoia Capital | March co-leads; later named participants | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | www.harvey.ai 2026-03-25 |
| J.P. Morgan Growth Equity Partners | Strategic investment relationships | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | www.harvey.ai 2026-07-28 |
| a16z; Coatue; Conviction; Kleiner Perkins | Named returning investors | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | www.harvey.ai 2026-09-09 |
Do Goldman Sachs and J.P. Morgan’s investments mean an IPO is booked?
The company’s strategic-investment post establishes investment relationships. It does not, by itself, announce a dated IPO or establish that those organizations have been appointed to underwrite one.
Investment, customer use, financing advice and underwriting are different roles, sometimes carried out by different entities inside a financial group. An article should name the role supported by the actual release rather than infer all the others from a familiar bank brand.
That separation also applies to technology suppliers. Using models or integrating a productivity platform does not establish that the supplier owns the customer’s entire business. The ownership of ChatGPT and OpenAI is a separate investigation from ownership of an application that uses AI.
A legal information investor is not the owner of the whole platform
The Series E announcement identifies REV as the venture arm of RELX, whose businesses include LexisNexis. That is useful industry context: an established legal-information group participated in a legal AI financing. It does not establish that RELX acquired Harvey or that LexisNexis controls its board.
The July 2026 investment names Growth Equity at Goldman Sachs Alternatives and J.P. Morgan’s Growth Equity Partners. I use those precise investment-arm names instead of collapsing the transaction into a claim that either bank owns the entire company. The announcement confirms an investment, but does not disclose an ownership percentage or a new company valuation.
The founders’ third-anniversary account also provides a dated origin checkpoint and identifies Siva Gurumurthy as CTO. This matters because a founder is often incorrectly assigned that title in summaries. Founding status, current management and present equity interests require separate records rather than a single inherited biography.
Adding the $5B Series E gives a longer sequence before the $11B and $15.5B financings. My first-to-last calculation is 3.1 times. The shorter March-to-September 2026 comparison is approximately 40.9%. These are changes in company funding benchmarks, not an increase in each founder’s personal liquid wealth.
A company can raise new money while individual shareholders are diluted, and a preferred-share price can differ economically from common stock. The relevant missing details are the fully diluted share count, preferences, vesting and any secondary sales. Those are the terms I would need to connect the funding chart to a founder’s actual economic exposure.
For the public-market question, investor participation is evidence of private capital backing. It does not produce a retail ticker or an announced listing date. A future IPO document could resolve holder percentages, voting rights and the proposed offering; until it exists, the ownership table shows disclosed relationships and keeps their undisclosed sizes visible.
How the founders built Harvey
The financing post identifies Winston Weinberg and Gabe Pereyra as cofounders. Weinberg is named as CEO in the earlier release. This gives a verified starting point for their business roles, rather than a stake or personal net-worth figure.
The founder story is connected to legal workflow software, but the value of the entire platform is not the personal wealth of either founder. I would need holdings, classes, vesting, disposals and other assets and obligations before producing an individual estimate or a historical wealth chart.
Funding and valuation history
Between the two verified prices, the valuation rose $4.5B. Dividing that change by the earlier $11B gives approximately 40.9%. I show the arithmetic as a change in headline company benchmarks, not an annualized investment return.
A later funding round can dilute previous holders or change security rights. An investor’s actual outcome also depends on purchase price, class, preferences and any sales. Those variables prevent the company-value percentage from being presented as a founder’s realized wealth growth.
The two 2026 financing amounts sum to $750M. That is the sum of these opened announcements, not Harvey’s lifetime total funding or its current cash balance. The strategic investment has no amount established in this review, so I do not pretend the two-row sum captures every 2026 inflow.
| Date / event | Amount | Valuation | Lead / counterparty | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-23 Series E | $300M | $5B | Kleiner Perkins; Coatue | Harvey disclosed |
| 2026-03-25 Financing | $200M | $11B | GIC; Sequoia | www.harvey.ai disclosed |
| 2026-07-28 Strategic investment | Amount not established here | No priced valuation established | Goldman Sachs Alternatives; J.P. Morgan Growth Equity Partners | www.harvey.ai disclosed |
| 2026-09-09 Financing | $550M | $15.5B | Diffusion; Lightspeed | www.harvey.ai disclosed |
Harvey: dated funding valuations
USD billions · priced rounds only
Scroll horizontally to see every column. Keyboard: focus the chart and use the arrow keys.
Zero baseline. Missing values are not interpolated.
Separate round observations. Tenders, debt, proposed deals and valuation lower bounds are excluded. No values between rounds are estimated.
I count three priced financing observations, from $5B in June 2025 to $15.5B in September 2026. The two 2026 benchmarks rise about 40.9%; the unpriced strategic investment is excluded. These are company values, with no interpolation or assumed daily stock price.
Harvey ownership timeline
| Date | Event | Ownership after event | Money / basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | Business founded; confirmed by third-anniversary account | Private founders | Founding allocations unavailable | Harvey |
| 2025-06-23 | Series E | Private shareholders; allocations undisclosed | $300M; $5B | Harvey |
| 2026-03-25 | Financing | Private investors including GIC and Sequoia | $200M at $11B | www.harvey.ai |
| 2026-07-28 | Strategic investment | Private shareholders with bank investment relationships | Amount and valuation not established here | www.harvey.ai |
| 2026-09-09 | Financing | Expanded private holders including Diffusion and Lightspeed | $550M at $15.5B | www.harvey.ai |
| 2026-10-12 | Research check | Private company; individual stakes undisclosed | No public IPO date established here | www.harvey.ai |
The bank announcement establishes backing, not a listing mandate
I read the strategic-investment wording separately from the priced financing announcements. The resulting ownership map includes financial-group investment relationships without adding a nonexistent listing appointment or date.
My read: this is a useful restraint in a pre-IPO article. A recognizable bank investor can be commercially important while the next public-market milestone remains unknown. The role should be checked from the relevant document, not the brand alone.
The same source hierarchy applies to the $15.5B number. The company’s release supplies a transaction valuation; it does not offer a liquid market price for all existing common stock. That limits what a reader can infer about access or founder liquidity.
Who runs Harvey?
| Person | Role | As of / condition | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Winston Weinberg | Cofounder and CEO | Confirmed March 2026 | www.harvey.ai |
| Gabe Pereyra | Cofounder | Identified as co-founder September 2026 | www.harvey.ai |
Can you buy Harvey stock? What about an IPO?
No public Harvey ticker or verified IPO date is established by the company records opened here. A private stake or vehicle interest needs its own issuer, terms and eligibility checks. A financing valuation is not a purchase recommendation or an offer available to every investor.
The enterprise-software comparison is Glean’s ownership history, while Notion’s tender investigation shows employee liquidity without a listing. The AI companies index supplies a wider framework for separating funding, valuation and operating performance.
Frequently asked questions
Who owns Harvey AI?
Harvey is privately owned by founders and institutional investors. Its September financing identifies Diffusion and Lightspeed as co-leads and lists returning participants. Those names do not provide current individual percentages or a complete register of every shareholder and vote. The source date matters.
What is Harvey AI’s valuation?
The company announced a $15.5 billion valuation in September 2026 alongside $550 million of funding. The valuation and financing amount are different measures. The earlier March benchmark was $11 billion; the increase between the two company prices is approximately 40.9%.
Is Harvey AI publicly traded?
The reviewed records do not establish a public Harvey share or a verified IPO schedule. Strategic investment from financial groups is not itself an underwriting appointment. Private security offers require their own documents, and an indicative valuation is not an exchange quote.
Does OpenAI own Harvey?
A model relationship does not establish a corporate parent. This investigation maps the investors disclosed in Harvey’s financing records, without treating an AI supplier as owner of the entire application business. Exact historical fund stakes or retained interests require their own direct ownership records.
Who is the CEO of Harvey?
Winston Weinberg is identified as CEO and cofounder in Harvey’s 2026 funding and strategic-investment announcements. Gabe Pereyra is also identified as cofounder. That establishes disclosed business roles, but neither a management title nor a company valuation supplies a verified individual stake or personal net-worth estimate.
What I am watching next
Next financing: verify price, amount and participants before changing the benchmark.
Next bank role: distinguish additional investment from any formally announced listing mandate.
Next founder disclosure: source personal holdings and current titles before attaching wealth profiles.
Our independent research methodology
I read the March and September company financing posts, bank-investment announcement and legal center. I calculated the disclosed benchmark change and kept unpriced events off the chart. Our research methodology distinguishes corporate and personal value. I did not obtain the private cap table, bank mandate or founder liquidity details.
Research checked 2026-10-12. Updated 2026-10-12. Meet the author and read our research approach.
Sources & methodology
Observations retain their source, period and definition. Uncertainty is preserved; missing values are not zero.
- Harvey March financing ↗
www.harvey.ai · 2026-03-25
$200M at $11B, GIC/Sequoia co-lead; Winston Weinberg CEO. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Harvey September financing ↗
www.harvey.ai · 2026-09-09
$550M at $15.5B; Diffusion/Lightspeed co-lead, returning investors and founders. Footer identifies Harvey AI Corporation. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Harvey legal center ↗
www.harvey.ai · Undated
Company legal center; current footer says Harvey AI Corporation. Full operating-entity contract still needs confirmation. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Harvey strategic bank investment announcement ↗
www.harvey.ai · 2026-07-28
Strategic investment announcement; does not establish an IPO underwriting mandate. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Harvey $300M Series E ↗
Harvey · 2025-06-23
$300M at $5B, co-led by Kleiner Perkins and Coatue; REV participation connects to RELX/LexisNexis investment arm, not majority ownership. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Harvey founders’ third-anniversary account ↗
Harvey · 2025-08-04
Confirms three-year origin, coauthor founders and greater than $100M ARR at that date. Names Siva Gurumurthy as CTO, correcting assumptions that a founder must hold that role. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Harvey Platform Agreement ↗
Harvey · 2026-01-09
Definition of Harvey names Harvey AI Corporation, a Delaware corporation, and its affiliates. Contractual group definition is not a complete subsidiary or shareholder register. Accessed 2026-10-11.