Key takeaways

  • September 2025: ASML invested €1.3B and disclosed approximately 11% fully diluted.
  • ASML’s strategic committee seat was described as advisory, not a majority voting interest.
  • September 2026: €3B of new financing at more than €21B post-money.
  • The older 11% must not be relabeled a verified post-Series-D stake.

What changed in 2026

The September 2026 company release names Samsung as lead, with EQT’s Scaleup Europe Fund and PSG among participants. The valuation is a lower-bound statement, more than €21B, not a precisely disclosed €21B.

That wording affects both ownership analysis and the chart. I keep the lower bound in the table and do not convert it into an exact plot point. A new round also creates a need to refresh any earlier percentage before calling it current.

Who owns Mistral AI?

The strongest disclosed percentage in this source set comes from an investor, not a guessed division of total funding. ASML’s announcement specifies a fully diluted basis. That denominator can differ from currently issued voting shares.

The Series C release identifies other investors and a financing value without assigning each a stake. A list of returning backers establishes involvement at that event, not their present ownership rank. A strategic partner may hold shares and a commercial contract, but those roles require separate descriptions.

Mistral AI: documented holders, not a complete cap table
HolderTypeStake / basisVoting rightsSource / date
Founding teamFounders; holdings unverifiedNot disclosedNot disclosedmistral.ai
Historical participation
ASMLStrategic equity investorApproximately 11% fully diluted at that dateAdvisory committee seat; voting percentage not disclosedinvestor.asml.com
2025-09-09
SamsungSeries D leadNot disclosedNot disclosedmistral.ai
2026-09-08
EQT Scaleup Europe Fund; PSGSeries D participantsNot disclosedNot disclosedmistral.ai
2026-09-08
DST Global; a16z; Bpifrance; General Catalyst; Index; Lightspeed; NvidiaNamed Series C participantsNot disclosedNot disclosedmistral.ai
2025-09-09

Does ASML’s committee seat mean it controls Mistral?

The primary announcement describes ASML’s seat on a Strategic Committee as advisory and names its CFO to that role. It does not disclose majority votes or an entitlement to direct every company decision. An advisory seat, a board seat and voting control are different governance facts.

The fully diluted stake is also not a personal founder estimate. The investor’s institutional interest belongs to the investor; the founder’s interest needs its own denominator and rights. Corporate valuation and founder wealth should not be substituted for one another.

The same discipline is useful when reading who owns Anthropic. A strategic technology investor can supply capital and commercial access without a statement of majority ownership. Control needs evidence of actual rights.

ASML’s 11% is dated, and the new round changes the denominator

ASML’s approximately 11% fully diluted interest is a disclosure tied to the September 2025 financing. The 2026 financing involves additional investors and fresh money. That alone is enough to require a fresh ownership calculation; it is not enough to perform one accurately. We would need ASML’s new subscription, any secondary transactions and the revised fully diluted share count.

The arithmetic is useful if its limits remain visible. Holding shares constant while increasing the company’s total shares would dilute a holder. Participating in a new issue could offset some or all of that dilution. We cannot choose between those paths from the fundraise headline, and the announcement’s inclusion of ASML as a participant still does not give its revised percentage.

The transaction adviser’s 2024 account confirms a €600M Series B and refers to an almost €6B valuation reported by the Financial Times. I keep that rounded, attributed benchmark in the table. It does not become an exact €5.8B chart point simply because a database or later summary uses that number.

The current commercial terms identify a French corporation and a Paris registration number, while allowing an order form to specify an affiliate. That identifies the contracting framework. It does not show that Samsung, ASML or a cloud partner owns the operating entity outright, nor does it disclose the corporate group’s full shareholder register.

I also separate strategic governance from control. ASML’s advisory committee role has a disclosed purpose; it is not the same as a majority of board votes or the right to elect directors. Founder voting control needs the actual classes and constitutional arrangements. The public financing releases alone do not justify assigning such rights to either founders or investors.

How the founders built Mistral AI

The company history dates Mistral’s beginning to April 2023 and names Arthur Mensch, Guillaume Lample and Timothée Lacroix as cofounders. Its current team page separates their jobs: CEO, Chief Science Officer and Chief Technology Officer. Those titles establish responsibility, not personal share percentages or control of the shareholder vote.

The key business question is why strategic industrial investors want exposure to the developer. A collaboration can support product use, research and a customer relationship while an equity investment supplies a separate financial interest. I would not read a product integration as proof of a larger shareholding than disclosed.

Funding and valuation history

I keep financing amounts and valuations in euros throughout. Mixing a dollar conversion from one date with euro figures from another can make the apparent growth partly an exchange-rate effect. No exchange conversion is needed to compare these disclosed euro amounts.

The Series D total divided by a post-money value above €21B is less than 14.3%. That bounds a simple funding-size ratio; it does not identify Samsung’s percentage. The lead investor need not supply the whole round, and the release does not provide a complete fully diluted capitalization.

For an illustrative dilution calculation only, if all new money were primary equity on comparable terms and an existing holder did not participate, its percentage would scale by the pre-money share of the post-money total. Those assumptions are not disclosed here. I do not apply that formula to turn ASML’s historical 11% into an asserted current stake.

Financing events and their valuation basis
Date / eventAmountValuationLead / counterpartyEvidence
2024-06-12
Series B
€600MAlmost €6B, reported; not an exact pointNot established in adviser accountOrrick
reported
2025-09-09
Series C
€1.7B€11.7B post-moneyASMLmistral.ai
disclosed
2026-09-08
Series D
€3BMore than €21B post-moneySamsung; EQT Scaleup Europe Fund and PSG co-leadmistral.ai
disclosed

A valuation trend would require at least two comparable priced rounds with exact values. The table preserves the available evidence without manufacturing a chart.

Only one exact priced valuation is verified in this ledger. The later round is priced but disclosed as a lower bound, so it remains in the funding table instead of being plotted as exactly €21B. Earlier priced-round records are needed to show a fuller chart.

Mistral AI ownership timeline

Completed events and clearly identified proposals
DateEventOwnership after eventMoney / basisSource
2023-04Company beginsPrivate founders and backersFounding allocation undisclosedMistral AI
2024-06-12Series BPrivate shareholders; allocations undisclosed€600M; Almost €6B, reported; not an exact pointOrrick
2025-09-09Series CPrivate holders including ASML€1.7B; €11.7B post-moneymistral.ai
2025-09-09ASML stake and governance disclosedASML minority holding with advisory roleApproximately 11% fully dilutedinvestor.asml.com
2026-09-08Series DPrivate syndicate including Samsung€3B; more than €21B post-moneymistral.ai
2026-10-12Research checkPrivate company; current votes and stakes incompleteHistorical stake needs post-round refreshmistral.ai
FROM THE PRIMARY RECORD

The 11% is dated; the committee seat is advisory

I cross-read the investor’s percentage and governance wording against the later financing. A common summary could preserve 11% beside the new valuation and imply those facts share a date. The source record does not support that presentation.

My read: the useful ownership answer includes both the percentage’s denominator and its measurement date. New capital can alter the denominator, while participation by existing holders can alter their share counts. Without those changes, a precise-looking new percentage would be invented.

The advisory role is equally important. I can report a strategic committee relationship, but I cannot turn it into undisclosed majority voting power or a parent-company relationship. The distinction allows readers to see industrial influence without overstating legal control.

Who runs Mistral AI?

Management roles; a job title does not establish an ownership percentage
PersonRoleAs of / conditionSource
Arthur MenschCofounder and CEOCompany team page checked October 11, 2026Mistral AI
Guillaume LampleCofounder and Chief Science OfficerCompany team page checked October 11, 2026Mistral AI
Timothée LacroixCofounder and Chief Technology OfficerCompany team page checked October 11, 2026Mistral AI

Can you buy Mistral AI stock? What about an IPO?

No exchange-listed Mistral AI share or verified IPO date is established by this review. Buying public ASML or Samsung shares would provide an interest in those broader companies, not a direct Mistral security. Indirect economic exposure depends on portfolio scale and the actual holdings.

Company ownership is also separate from the careers question. Our Mistral AI salary research examines compensation evidence; the AI salaries tracker compares dated roles. Neither establishes the value or transferability of an employee’s equity award.

The pending combination in who owns Cohere provides a useful contrast to Mistral’s new issue of equity. Who owns Groq follows a technology licence that transferred no equity in that transaction. The record behind the headline determines whether an ownership table should actually change.

Frequently asked questions

Who owns Mistral AI?

Mistral is privately owned by founders and investors. ASML disclosed a historical approximately 11% fully diluted stake, while later financing named Samsung and other participants without current percentages. A complete post-round cap table is not supplied by these records. The source date matters.

Does ASML own Mistral?

ASML disclosed a minority stake and an advisory strategic committee seat. That does not establish majority ownership or voting control. Its 2025 percentage should retain its date rather than be reused as a verified percentage after the 2026 financing. The source date matters.

Can you buy Mistral AI stock?

This review establishes no publicly listed Mistral share. Private security access depends on the seller, instrument, eligibility and issuer restrictions. Owning a listed strategic investor gives exposure to that investor’s entire business, not direct ownership of Mistral. The source date matters.

What is Mistral AI’s valuation?

The September 2026 company release states more than €21 billion post-money. I preserve that lower bound rather than plotting exactly €21 billion. Its €3 billion funding amount is capital raised, a different measure from the value attached to the company.

Who is the CEO of Mistral AI?

Arthur Mensch is identified as cofounder and CEO in the company’s financing announcements. His executive role does not establish his personal equity percentage or the founders’ voting power. Those questions require the shareholder register, share classes and governance documents, beyond the names attached to a funding release.

What I am watching next

Next cap-table disclosure: reconcile ASML’s historical stake with Series D participation and dilution.

Next governance record: distinguish strategic advice, board rights and votes.

Next pricing event: retain currencies and lower-bound wording before extending the valuation chart.

Our independent research methodology

I read Mistral’s two financing releases and ASML’s investor announcement. I cross-checked the dated percentage, fully diluted basis, advisory role and later financing. Our research method distinguishes company value, equity percentages and control. I did not obtain a shareholder register or calculate a current ASML stake.

Research checked 2026-10-12. Updated 2026-10-12. Meet the author and read our research approach.

Sources & methodology

Observations retain their source, period and definition. Uncertainty is preserved; missing values are not zero.

  1. Mistral sovereign AI and Series D ↗

    mistral.ai · 2026-09-08

    €3B at more than €21B post-money, Samsung lead, EQT Scaleup Europe Fund and PSG participation. Accessed 2026-10-11.

  2. Mistral Series C company announcement ↗

    mistral.ai · 2025-09-09

    €1.7B at €11.7B post-money; ASML lead and returning investors. Accessed 2026-10-11.

  3. ASML investment and strategic committee seat ↗

    investor.asml.com · 2025-09-09

    €1.3B investment; approximately 11% fully diluted and advisory strategic committee seat. Accessed 2026-10-11.

  4. Orrick advises Mistral AI on €600M Series B ↗

    Orrick · 2024-06-12

    Direct adviser confirms €600M Series B and earlier €385M financing. Its almost €6B valuation is attributed to the Financial Times, not an exact adviser-confirmed €5.8B. Accessed 2026-10-11.

  5. Mistral AI: company history and founders ↗

    Mistral AI · Undated; accessed 2026-10-11

    Company history dates origin April 2023, seed June 13, 2023, Series A December 11, 2023 and Series B June 11, 2024. Current team lists Mensch CEO, Lample CSO and Lacroix CTO. Accessed 2026-10-11.